Starting out…

I decided to start this blog as a way of inspiring myself to live a cleaner, healthier, and more positive lifestyle. I’ve always enjoyed getting passionate about different kinds of healthy food and exercise – I just have trouble following through to carry out those changes in a sustainable way.

Enter RAW food. The Raw Food movement is something that I have only learned about recently, but I think it is something that I can do, and keep up with. Dishes actually seem easier to make once you have the basics down and own a blender. Part of my problem with cooking is it taking such a long time to do, and I am always afraid of over and under cooking things! After reading Jennifer Cornbleet’s Raw Food Made Easy for 1 or 2 People I realized it doesn’t have to be that hard. I can start out simple and work up to the “gourmet” raw foods if I want. Her recipes are fast, easy, and delicious. But the way I first got into this movement (and then found her book) is really through food blogs.

After I started following several food blogs (more on that another time) I found myself motivated to start my own. Hopefully blogging will encourage me to:

1) Make healthier choices on a day-t0-day basis.
2) Make my dishes pretty I love food blog pictures. 🙂
3) Hold myself accountable. (Because I’ll have to blog about what I’m choosing to put into my body!)

As the first step in this process, I have decided to become a vegetarian. Many of the bloggers I follow are actually vegan, and I can totally see myself doing that in the future, at least 90% of the time (no one else in my family is vegetarian, let alone vegan). But I am taking this step by step, and the first is cutting out the meat!

So here I go, into the world of blogging, Raw Food, and a healthier life!

Leave a Reply

