Zucchini Pasta!

This blog post is actually from a couple of days ago, due to some crazy blog problems.  I’m usually pretty good with computers, but… yeah.  Either way, I didn’t change it from present tense.

So a few days ago I had to run out the door so fast that I didn’t have time to make my usual morning smoothie. This threw me off a bit, but I got my groove back by dinner time. When I got home, I decided to have a wrap. The problem with my wraps though, is that I always put too much in them to actually be able to wrap them closed. So I basically had a wheat tortilla pizza.

Wheat tortilla with hummus, baba ganoush, red onion, cucumber slices, 1/2 avocado

I had some sliced mango on the side, as well as some leftover ratatouille from Easter (no lamb for me!) and sauteed mushroom/tomato garlic spread. Not exactly Raw, but I am not even near 100% raw, and I’m not going to limit myself to a “only Raw food is an option” way of thinking right now because that is a recipe for bingeing for me (Not good) and just isn’t practical at the moment.  I’m working on it, but I’ll have good choices and not so good choices, hopefully all documented here.  I’m not sure I’ll ever be totally Raw, but it is a goal that is certainly not unhealthy! Like eating most all of my chocolate bunny from Easter.

As you can see, I made it all gone. Delicious.

This morning I got up with time to make a morning smoothie, which is always my favorite thing to do.

1 frozen banana
3/4 c. frozen strawberries
1 c. almond milk
big handful of baby spinach
Supplements:
vitamin C
spirulina
powdered kelp
1 T. flaxseed oil
1 t. fish oil

This is always very filling. I generally put in the same supplements for every smoothie, so I won’t always write that down. Because of the oils it keeps me full until lunch, and I love adding spinach – it’s an easy way to get in a serving of green food without trying! I usually pour it in a mason jar with a lid, so I can grab and go.

I took a picture of my breakfast on campus with a backdrop of beautiful flowers. 🙂

I’m always very motivated on Tuesdays and Thursdays since I get out of class at 12:30 pm. I have the whole rest of the day, and I’m not exhausted from class and working! Today I went by the Sally Hansen store and picked up 3 new China Glaze nail polishes. 🙂

I love my nail polish! I’m afraid to take another count of how many I own…last time I checked it was hovering in the low 60s. Yeesh. Addicted, much? Anyway, I think I’ll do purple tonight. Maybe orange.

I also stopped by the grocery store to pick up some fresh produce. Since that’s what I’m trying to eat the most of out of my day, I run out of food faster than the rest of my family. And honestly, if I were on a completely Raw/vegetable fruit diet, I think it would actually be cheaper than a Standard American Diet. I got a bunch of kale, cabbage, cilantro, 2 zucchinis, a cucumber, tomatoes, and 3/4 cup of baba ganoush for about 11 dollars. Not too bad, if I do say so myself. Especially since it’s basically just me eating. Although….

I made zucchini pasta with raw marinara sauce for the first time, and my dad asked me to make it for dinner for everyone! He tried my pasta and said it was the first time he liked something with zucchini in it. It was the first time I made zucchini pasta, and I know it won’t be the last. So good!

So now we don’t have enough zucchinis in the house, apparently. But it’s worth it if I can get everyone to eat a bit healthier.

My marinara in a pint mason jar (I love these things!)



And next to a green onion my dad found in the garden. Now he wants to grow zucchinis in the garden! haha

One thing I have to keep in mind is that raw garlic is much more potent than cooked. I love garlic, so I decided to put 2 cloves in the marinara instead of the 1 the recipe called for. Um, it was a little strong. Delicious, but a little spicier than I would have wanted.  Just 1 next time.  This recipe is from Jennifer Cornbleet’s Raw Food Made Easy for 1 or 2 People which I cannot recommend enough. It really got me started, and the recipes are so easy to do. It has lots of additional information that is really helpful for someone just starting out, like me.

I also made dessert for my family (served zucchini pasta for both parents, both loved it, especially my dad) which is another recipe from Raw Food Made Easy for 1 or 2 People and it turned out really well.

Walnut Raisin Cake with Sweet Orange Cream Sauce.

Absolutely delicious. I didn’t have enough raisins so I substituted some prunes, and the Sweet Orange Sauce was so easy (I added a little bit extra agave and OJ, to make it a bit sweeter and a little more “orange” pop). It calls for raspberries on top – I just used some thawed blackberries.

One last little piece left for my brother.

Overall, an awesome day. Smoothie for breakfast, zucchini pasta for dinner, healthy raw dessert (I may have had one or two extra spoonfuls of the Orange Sauce….), I made it all for family, and I’m feeling that much more confident in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

