Roots!

So last Friday two friends and I went out to eat at a local restaurant that I had never been to.  And I can’t believe I waited until now!  I really enjoyed it.  Roots has gotten some mixed reviews online, but the food I got was quite good, the service was friendly (but not extremely fast) and that atmosphere is awesome.  The carved roots and wooden tables and furniture gave it a very cozy feel, and it was very nice to sit and wait for food while chatting with friends.

They don’t have a website, but here is their online menu.  The food philosophy is wonderful.  They are a vegetarian restaurant with vegan options, and all the food is from organic sources.  The prices, while not cheap, weren’t as expensive as I thought they would be.

To start off with, I got a wheatgrass shot.  I’d never had one before, and although it was a bit of a splurge, I thought, what the heck.

I actually really liked it!  It didn’t tast good, per say, but it wasn’t bad and I would definitely drink more of these…if I could afford it.

For dinner one friend and I both got the black bean burger with sweet potato fries.

It was delicious, with lots of greens, onions, tomatoes, and my favorite, veganaise.  The sweet potato fries were good – I only wish there had been more of them.

My other friend got the pad thai which she thought was good if a little sweeter than she usually liked.  I had a taste and thought it was good (although pad thai’s not usually my thing).  It was presented beautifully:

We all splurged and got smoothies.  I make fruit smoothies so often at home that I decided to go for the chocolate wizbang.

Chocolate soy ice cream, espresso, chocolate soymilk.

I usually avoid soymilk (preferring to use almond milk at home), but that was their base, so I went with it.  It was good!  I’m going to have to find a way to add espresso/coffee flavor to my chocolate smoothies at home.

All in all, a very good experience.  I can’t wait to try the other items on the menu.  My mom and I are having lunch there tomorrow before we go shopping, so I’ll have to try something new and share it here!

Leave a Reply

