Roots, Part Deux

So Thursday afternoon my mom and I went to Roots for lunch.  I am graduating from college in (gasp!) 2 weeks, and we went shopping for my graduation presents!

I love having “dates” with my mom.  Seriously, my mom is awesome.  I’m sure many people think that about their own moms, but I always like to say it.

We shared all our food – it was a “trying something new” day!  Mom got the sampler platter.  Which was good, although everything on it was basically fried.  Not ideal, but it was fun to try.

Sweet  potato fries, seitan nuggets, curry puffs, falafel, fried tofu, spring rolls. Three dipping sauces, including plum sauce.

To make up for it I got the garden wraps with plum sauce which were so refreshing and light – we both loved them.  I’m planning on replicating this at home.

I also got a cup of sweet potato curry soup.  All I can say is – wow.  I am so trying this at home.  I rarely have the courage to try new soups in restaurants (I almost got the tomato instead) but I’m so glad I didn’t.  This soup was light while still filling, tasted fantastic, and had a bit of a spicy kick that was wonderful.

The bread was pretty fantastic, too.

All in all, a great lunch.  And as for my graduation presents – I’ll detail those in another post.  Suffice it to say – I’M SO EXCITED ABOUT THEM!  😀

Leave a Reply

