Fantastic Wednesday

I have dubbed yesterday Fantastic Wednesday.

Honestly, it shouldn’t have been a good day.  Nothing happened that made it good.  I had my receptive final in ASL, work was not good (all the construction is awful and noisy and smelly – we had to wear masks on the 2nd floor) and everyone who called on the phones had a huge problem and fines to deal with.  Too much drama.

And yet….I had such a wonderful day.  First of all, I’ll say that I’ve started running.  Outside.  I’ve never been a runner, and when I do it is on a treadmill.  But some friends have inspired me to start, so I am trying.  I’ve never imagined myself as a runner, but it does make me feel really good afterwards.  I went home after ASL for lunch ~11 am.  I had to be in class at 1:25 pm, so I had to get in & out fast.  I took a 15 minute run around my neighborhood.  I’m starting off easy; if it’s too hard in the beginning I’ll never want to do it again.  So for a non-runner – that was good!  I broke a sweat and it was hard.

After my quick run, I made lunch.  3 small slices of toast, 1 with avocado, 2 with tomato slices w/salt & pepper (notice a theme here?  When I find something I like I tend to eat it a lot.

I had a banana at work with a hunk of chocolate coconut snowballs.  Banana + chocolate = delicious!

I was in such a good mood when I got home that I managed to get our cat on Doug’s back, just for fun, without either of them getting too annoyed at me. 😉

Before I ate I wanted to get some greens in.  I blended about 2 1/2 cups of green lettuce with 1/2 cup of frozen blueberries.

For a little additional sweetness I added a spoonful of Arizona Farms Cactus Honey Powder.

I picked this up on a whim in my local asian market.  As far as I can tell in my research on this, some say it is honey from bees, and others say it’s a misnomer and is actually basically dehydrated agave nectar. ???  I don’t really know what I think about it – it’s a good sweetener when I don’t want to use regular sugar (always) and don’t want to use liquid agave.  Anyway, it added just a touch of sweetness to my liquid salad, and twas good.  🙂

For dinner I had a 100 calorie Arnold Wheat Thin.  I had one slice with tomato slices, and spread red pepper hummus on the other.  I love these because they are thin enough to eat both with lots of toppings without stuffing myself.  Sometimes regular bread is too thick.  For dessert (already on the plate!) I had another scoop of chocolate coconut snowball.  Yum.


Seen here with my personalized Tervis tumbler. 🙂  I love that too.  It’s usually my water glass at night.  It doesn’t sweat, and they have a lifetime guarantee.

Yay for happy days!  I am loving feeling so happy, relatively consistently, since the last 2 years I have had such trouble, feeling down all the time and struggling with it.  I just wish I could tell everyone who’s feeling awful and depressed for one reason or another that It WILL get better!  Life goes on and you can be happy! My mom told me this, and I never truly understood until I got past that dark time.  I am happy to say that I have learned a lot from these experiences, even though it was a painful lesson.

Leave a Reply

