Homemade Vegan Peanut Butter Cups

So tonight I was in the mood for something sweet, easy, and new.

I haven’t had real Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups in ages, but Averie over at Love Veggies and Yoga referenced back to a post she had done a while ago about them, and I decided to give it a go!

Her original recipe allowed for lots of variation based on if you were Raw or vegan or both.

Raw Vegan Peanut Butter Cups (makes 2)
1/2 c. chocolate (I used a coconut oil, agave nectar, and cocoa powder blend – didn’t really measure but ~2 Tablespoons cocoa powder and sweetness to taste.  I probably got a little less than 1/2 cup)

2 T. peanut butter
1/2 t. nutritional yeast 1.5 t. nutritional yeast
(I amped up the nutritional yeast simply because I felt the peanut butter could use it.  Loving the nutritional yeast!  And now Averie has me thinking nooch in my head.)

Take 2 cupcake liners.  Pour about half of the coconut/cocoa/agave mixture into the mold.  Place in freezer for ~2 minutes (while mixing peanut butter and nutritional yeast).  Spoon ~1 Tablespoon peanut butter into each cup.  Cover PB with the rest of the chocolate.  Freeze 15-20 minutes to allow the chocolate to harden.

They’re delicious!  The chocolate can melt quickly because of the coconut oil, so I’d recommend keeping them in the freezer or refrigerator.

Mine were kind of large, so I split one with my sister.  Totally satisfying, and you know everything that’s in them!  No unpronounceable ingredients here – and they’re homemade.

2 Comments »

  1. […] Dessert was blackberries and blueberries with 3/4 of a homemade vegan peanut butter cup! […]

  2. […] 3 of us split one of my homemade peanut butter cups!  I had no agave, so I made these ones with honey.  Honey gives things a distinct flavor, in my […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

