Peanut Sauce and Zucchini Pasta

In what is apparently going to become a theme, I used yet another recipe of Averie’s from Love Veggies and Yoga that I am planning on repeating again.  I tweaked this recipe a lot based on personal preference and what I had on hand.

Sidenote: I use a capital T. for Tablespoon and lowercase t. for teaspoon in recipes.

Adapted from Averie.

Peanut Sauce
3/4 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. maple syrup/agave nectar blend
(I used a 1:1 ratio)
1/2 c. sesame oil  3 T. hot sesame oil (I only had a spicy sesame oil, so I was hesitant to add a 1/2 cup.  Believe me, you still get the kick with 3 T. and the spiciness was great!)
1/4 c. orange juice
3 T. apple cider vinegar
1 t. ginger (I don’t like ginger, so I left this out completely.)
Optional soy sauce (I didn’t use any and it was fine.)

Whisk everything in a bowl and it’s ready to pour over your zucchini pasta, or regular pasta!

Mmmm, so good!

Very filling, too.  🙂  My mom smelled this sauce without knowing what it was, and if you’re not expecting the spicy sesame oil/peanut butter combo it can strike you as a bit gross, but trust me, it’s fantastic.  She had some over rice the night I made this – and loved it.

Sidenote #2: I usually take my pictures with my phone.  I wish I had the time and patience to take photos with my actual camera, but if I did that I’m afraid I wouldn’t be blogging at all!  So sorry if any of my pics lack quality – rest assured they look better in person and are delicious.  One of these days I will have far more motivation.

Leave a Reply

