Dairy Free Oat Pancakes

As I started this post, adapted from an Irish cook, I turned on my iTunes, and what comes on? Danú!  An Irish band I love.  Too funny.

Yesterday I checked out Good Mood Food: Simple Healthy Homecooking by Donal Skehan from the library.  He’s young, cute, Irish, and apparently an excellent cook.  *swoon*  What more could you ask for?

I was inspired around 11:30 pm last night to make something new.  Being a night owl, this happens a lot.  I flipped through the book, and lo and behold – oat pancakes.  So without further ado:

Adapted from Donal Skehan. I love this cookbook, but translating some of the ingredient list can be interesting.  I don’t usually follow recipes written in ounces.  😉

Dairy Free Oat Pancakes
100ml/4 fl oz goat’s milk 4 fl oz almond milk (1/2 cup)
120g/4 oz oat flour (1/2 cup)
2 large eggs, separated
1 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
1/2 t. cinnamon

Making oat flour.  Just regular rolled oats for a few minutes in a food processor.

All the dry ingredients together.

Separating the eggs.  My first time doing this – I broke one of the yolks, so there’s a little bit in the whites.  Also, notice I have a fancy egg separator? (But I do know how to do it by hand).

I whisked the almond milk and egg yolks, then added them to the dry ingredients.

The recipe said to beat the egg whites until they held firm peaks.  I tried, but I think my peaks were more like soft, sad peaks.

Fold egg whites into batter gently.  Whenever a recipe calls for folding in eggs I always think of this and laugh.  Starting at 1:50 🙂

First time on the skillet.

Flipped over.

I’d make these again but I think I’d change a couple things.

1. I’d leave out the salt.  We get too much salt in our diets already, so I really don’t think this recipe needs any.
2. I’m not sure you really need to beat the egg whites.  It makes the recipe a little more labor intensive than it needs to be.  I’ll try it again without doing this and see how it goes.
3. Add more cinnamon.  It’s delicious, and I think it could have used more.

I don’t always like my pancakes with maple syrup, since it can get a little too sugary and make me feel a little sick.  I had my pancakes spread with raw almond butter and strawberry preserves.  So good!!  Like the best open faced peanut butter (ok, almond butter) and jelly pancake sandwich ever.  XD

Leave a Reply

