Experimenting in the Kitchen

I’ve been enjoying trying out lots of different smoothie recipes lately.  My latest creation is a homemade mocha!

Mocha Smoothie
1 frozen banana
~1 c. almond milk
1 T. cocoa powder
1 packet
Starbucks Via instant coffee (I’ve been looking for a way to add a coffee flavor to my chocolate smoothies – this is it!)
2-3 ice cubes
Optional: sweetener
(I use ~1 T. agave nectar)

Sidenote: I am not a heavy coffee drinker.  I don’t brew it in the mornings regularly, but I enjoy an occasional cup – and I love mochas.  I’m not a huge fan of Starbucks for many reasons, but this instant coffee is awesome.  Instant flavor, easy to add, and extremely portable.

Loving it!  I’m sure there will be pictures posted in the future.  The reason I don’t have one for today is because I didn’t make this smoothie this morning.

No frozen bananas this morning.  😥  So….I looked around to see what I could find.  Remember when I raved about opening my young Thai coconuts?  Well, I saved the coconut meat in the freezer.  And I thought I’d try a coconut mocha smoothie.  What could go wrong, right?

Into the blender went the frozen coconut, almond milk, cocoa powder, coffee mix, and agave.

Out of the blender came an oddly textured, coffee flavored, slightly gelatinous coconut tapioca pudding.  Yuck.  I got about half of it down (cause I was hungry!  I’m a breakfast girl) and threw the rest out.  Lesson learned.  I won’t be trying this again.  Maybe if I had a Vita-Mix it would have gone better…. *sigh*  A girl can dream.

But you never know unless you try.

At work I got a 3 cheese sandwich and cranberry kombucha from Bloomingfoods to wash the taste out of my mouth and memory.  Sadly, there were no dragon tofu sandwiches like the one I had the other day.

I went with a friend to 10th Street Market to pick up some zaatar.  Unfortunately they were out so I’ll have to go back another time.  I did pick up some pita, nori sushi sheets and a bamboo sushi mat for cheapo, though!  I’m excited to try making some vegetarian sushi for lunches.  I love sushi, but it can be so expensive.

After I got home I was so exhausted for some reason.  I took a short nap, and woke up hungry.

1 piece of pita (they’re large but thin with pockets) cut in half.  Half I spread with garlic/roasted red pepper hummus and sliced cherry tomatoes.  The other half I spread with almond butter and blackberry jam (yum!) and 1/2 a sliced banana.  Extra hummus on the side.

Almond butter + blackberry jam is great!  I can’t wait to have this again.

I’ve been a little bored today.  I should probably get up and do laundry and clean, but hmmm.  No motivation.  Not a drop.  We’ll see what I can manage to get done before I have to go to bed.  Work will come early tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

