Memories are made of this, and Vegenaise

Tuesday morning I had a piece of toast with Soy Free Earth Balance and a coffee smoothie.  While I don’t totally avoid soy, I don’t rush to replace everything animal based with it.  All things in moderation.  And I really liked it.  It tastes just about the same as butter, & is easy to spread.  I’ve never liked “fake” butters before, so this is a keeper!

For lunch I had half a dragon tofu sandwich from Bloomingfoods.  I love this sandwich.  I’m planning on trying different tofu sandwiches in the future (see, this is me not avoiding all soy).  I had the other half after I got home from work around 4 pm.

Before I headed home I actually went out to the the east side Bloomingfoods to pick up some Vegenaise, which I’ve been wanting to get.  I love it on the sandwiches I’ve gotten at Bloomingfoods so I thought I’d try it for real.  Tomato + mayonnaise sandwiches have been my late night weakness lately.

[source]

Funnily enough, I ran into one of my best friend’s mom at downtown Bloomingfoods, and then again at the east side one (she manages them – another reason I love B-foods, brand loyalty!), with her son and his girlfriend!  Then another of my best friends walked in!  It was pretty priceless having everyone just meet up like that.

Bloomingfoods is stocking lots more Raw foods than I can believe!  Too bad I can’t afford $12 granola and $9 energy bars.  That’s okay, I can make all that at home.  🙂

Then I was planning on going out to a show at The Bishop to see a band I haven’t watched since high school!  They were good, and it was fun.  I had to fuel up before I went out.

Quinoa with Soy Free Earth Balance and black pepper.  I really liked this, and I love that quinoa is a complete protein.  It’s so good, and easier to make than rice.

Then half a piece of toast with almond butter and blackberry jam.

After the show I went to The Vid with Maggie.  A couple other best friends stopped by for a drink and a game of pool.  Maggie and I must have played 3 or 4 games of pool.  It was so much fun!!  Memories for a lifetime, that’s what I’m making right now and loving it.

I always have a craving for pizza when we go out drinking.  Probably because Greek’s and Rockit’s are just down the street.  Mmm…  Good thing I thought ahead and brought a Prana Bar – Mango Maca.  This was very good, if a bit too sweet, and saved me from buying pizza.  I ate totally vegan the past two days!

Afterward I walked home with Maggie and we hung out and chatted for hours. Such a good time – life with my friends right now is making me so happy.  They are such blessings in my life.  ❤

—–

Wednesday I got up and had a slice of whole wheat toast with almond butter and blackberry jam, and 1/2 cup of orange juice.  Notice a theme here?  😉

Dinner was a mixed bowl a la Angela.  She makes bowls like this a lot, and as someone who loves mixing textures and flavors, it’s right up my alley.

Quinoa with some hummus, salsa, garlic pasta sauce, some green chili paste (made by one of my dad’s coworkers who’s Indian – I don’t know everything in it) and 1/2 an avocado.  YUM.

For dessert I wanted ice cream.  My bananas weren’t quite frozen, but I had some banana soft serve anyway.

It had:
1 semi-frozen banana
1/4 t. vanilla extract
1 T. peanut butter
A little less than 1 T. almond butter

I put a little blackberry jam in the bowl, and the last bit of my chocolate coconut snowballs.

I’m a happy girl.  🙂

Stay tuned for some experimenting with tofu and a surprise breakfast treat! I’m super excited to see how they’ll turn out!

Leave a Reply

