Maple Sesame Tofu

I decided to make a tofu sandwich.  Sandwiches are basically perfect, in my opinion.  I love a well made sandwich.  My sister watches me make them sometimes and tells me how crazy I am for the time I put into mine.  But a sandwich made with love is a sandwich with taste!  Tofu is totally new to me, so some experimenting is necessary.

Vegan Maple Sesame Tofu Sandwich

To start: buy tofu

I probably would get extra firm next time.

Squeeze all the water out, however you choose to do that.  I used some paper towels and a cutting board.

Gather marinade ingredients together.

I used (all these are kind of rough estimates – use however much you want, basically):
2 T. Maple Syrup
2 T. Agave Nectar
2 T. Apple Cider Vinegar
1.5 T. Hot Sesame Oil
Cracked black pepper to taste

Place tofu in a bowl with the marinade.

Let it marinate at least 2 hours in the fridge (I let mine go overnight).

Take tofu out, and place on a lightly oiled skillet.  Let cook until it’s as firm/crispy as you wish.  I liked getting mine a little brown and crackly.

You can do whatever you want with this – it’d probably be good with a vegetable stir fry of some kind.  I went with my original idea, which was reminiscent of my dragon tofu sandwich from Bloomingfoods.

On toasted whole wheat with red onions, spinach, and vegenaise.

This was great!  I’m looking forward to trying more combinations and seeing what I can do with it.

Leave a Reply

