These are the days of summer

Wednesday was a true day of summer.  🙂

I got up at 9:30 am to meet R and Maggie for tennis at 10:30 am, and we had a good time hitting the tennis balls around and laughing at our more horrendous shots.  Although, I think we were pretty good for not being “tennis players.”  (Thanks for the lessons, Mom!)

I went home for lunch.  Can you guess?  That’s right, another Woodstock Quinoa salad.  I can’t get enough of this.

Before Woodstock dressing.

And after.  🙂

Then there was a bit of an unexpected nap in my mom’s armchair, before R and Maggie came over to go swimming in my pool!  We had a great time, it was sunny and hot out.  I got a little bit burned on my shoulders and back, despite sunscreen.  I think it mostly started from tennis though.  My face didn’t burn at all!  I was shocked.

The 3 of us split one of my homemade peanut butter cups!  I had no agave, so I made these ones with honey.  Honey gives things a distinct flavor, in my opinon, but it was still good.  My dad had one I made him as part of his breakfast!  😀

Then we packed up and headed to R’s brother’s house to watch a movie, after which we had a dance party.  Can I say perfection?  🙂  I had such a great time.  We ordered pizza, which I probably ate too much of.  Oh well.  Life is for living.

Thursday morning I woke up and wanted something light before I was going to work out a bit.  I didn’t make any overnight oats.  😦  So I had a piece of whole wheat toast with 1/4 avocado smashed and tomato slices.

I got on our treadmill for about half an hour.  From what I’ve read, most people seem to enjoy either running indoors on treadmills or outside.  I have a very hard time running outside.  I just don’t enjoy it.  I much prefer running indoors.  Also, if I work out in my own house, people won’t see how much of a mess I look like after working out!  I swear, any kind of hard workout and I sweat buckets and turn red as a beet.  One thing’s for sure…I’ve never counted on meeting a hottie at the gym!! haha!

I had a big salad before heading to work.  Yup…Woodstock Quinoa salad – this time with a little bit of Goddess dressing as well.  I toasted a little bit of whole wheat bread too.

One thing I love about pre-rinsing my spinach and lettuce and having them in tupperwares in the fridge – it’s so easy to whip together a salad in no time!  I made this salad AND a serving of overnight oats for work in just 10 or 15 minutes.  (The oats just marinate in the fridge for a couple hours and are perfect for eating on a 15 minute break.)

Before adding almond milk.  I usually put in lots of cinnamon, a serving of my kelp supplement and spirulina.

I had a handful of dark chocolate m&ms’s at work.  🙂  They made me happy.

At work I held up pretty well.  A nutrient dense salad is the best way to get greens in and not feel like you’re depriving yourself.  Because if I’m hungry just an hour and a half later, I’ll just end up eating something truly awful cause I’m staving on my break.

Friday was super fun.  I don’t work, so I watched some of the World Cup with my dad, then met up with Maggie, E and R to walk over to a coworker and friend’s house for an Apples to Apples party!  We had a great time, then headed to The Vid for a while.  While walking back to the apartments we got caught in the rain!!  All in all, a great start to the weekend.  🙂

Leave a Reply

