The Theme of the Day is Carrot

This morning I got up after spending the night with a friend.  We had a great time out last night, despite the 3rd band backing out of the Battle of the Bands we went out to see (the band we wanted to see in the first place!).  It was more like Duel of the Bands.  So we left, and headed over to a different bar to meet up with a good friend I haven’t seen in a while.  Ahh, $2 Tuesdays.

On the way there I met up with one of my Psychology professors! Okay, picture this guy: a big black guy with dreadlocks all down his back, wearing a New York Yankees jersey and head bandanna.  Yeah, that’s what he wore to class everyday too. And he always talked about going out and drinking at the bars.  Before I turned 21 I always thought, “My barhopping days will not be complete until I see Merv at the bars.”

Well, they are now!  😀  And because I actually talked to him after class, and he was nice enough to let me take a test early when I told him I was going on vacation – he remembers me and my name!! Too funny, and it makes me happy.

After a lil’ bit of a crazy night out, I wanted something light and fresh first thing this morning.  I picked up this from the grocery store on my way home.

I love the ingredient list: carrots

It was a great light start to the day, with just 70 calories per 8 oz, 2 grams of protein, and no added sugar, no fat.

Lunch was intense.

Cucumber, tomato, red onion, and sprouts on whole wheat bread with Vegenaise and a little bit of Annie’s Honey Mustard Vinaigrette Lite (which may be my new love!).  With 40 cal. and 3 g. of fat per 2 Tablespoons – much better than many other dressings, and it tastes great!  I usually can’t stand the taste of light dressings.  Also with 1/2 avocado w/lemon juice and salt.

I love opening new bottles of vegenaise.  🙂

I was so full after this lunch.  I didn’t need to eat for quite a while – which was good because I was glued to my TV for the Germany vs. Spain World Cup game! Spain won, 1-0, and rightly so.  Germany just wasn’t moving fast enough, and Spain took possession much more often.  They seemed to just…want it more.  Great fun to watch!  They put in Fernando Torres towards the end…be still my heart!  😉

And look who insisted on watching some of the game with me…

I went to dinner at McAlister’s with a couple friends.

I got basically 1/2 grilled cheese sandwich (with pizza sauce and tomatoes) and a Caesar side salad.  With pickles (1 is mine, the other 2 are J and D’s haha!  They don’t like pickles).

To follow up this, I couldn’t resist McAlister’s carrot cake.  This was sooooo good.  And huuuuuuge.  *slight regret*

So delicious.  J, D, and I determined we are going to plan a day trip to eat at The Cheesecake Factory sometime soon.  I’ve never been, but they spent at least 10 minutes fangirling out over the food there, while I was eating my carrot cake.  🙂

All in all, a very good day.  If I feel hungry later on I’ll probably take a glass of carrot juice and blend it with ~1 cup spinach and a serving of my protein powder as a light end to the day.

Leave a Reply

